10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years

It’s only a few days ago that I turned 28 – and realized that my passion for travelling started about 10 years ago. It was then that I decided to spend some time abroad after finishing high school and before starting to study. About a year later I went on an exchange in Japan and another year later spent six months living in Paris – the wonderful beginning of several semesters abroad and lots of adventures on holidays. Time to look back on 10 things I learned from those 10 years!

1. No drama! When something goes wrong, take a deep breath and try to relax. The best way to deal with most things is to stay calm – in a few hours / days / weeks you will be able to laugh about it.

2. Always be open for spontaneous conversations. They might result in the best day trips or tips you will ever receive.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - november

3. You won’t like every country you will ever visit, and that’s okay. Try to make the best of the time you are spending there and learn your lessons from it.

4. Bucket lists are not everything. Sometimes it’s good to put together a list of what things you want to see when visiting a certain country, but it’s just as good to just let go and do whatever you want in the moment.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - Off Shoulder Dress 3

5. No drama if you do not make it to all tourist attractions. Sometimes, there are more important things on holidays than just running from one ‘must do’ do another.

6. Spontaneous stops along the route sometimes turn out to be the best idea ever. It was pure coincidence that we stopped at Raymond Island in Australia and spotted loads of wild koalas, for example. So just listen to your guts.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - RaymondIsland 3

7. ‘Secret spots’ from Lonely Planet or TripAdvisor are never secret. They are often the most crowded places you will visit during your holiday.

8. Pinterest is the best travel inspiration ever! You can find many detailed itineraries, tips and ideas. And you can easily save them to your own pin boards until the journey finally is happening!

9. There are too many beautiful places in the world to just focus on instagrammable spots. Many spots that are famous from Instagram are crowded, and don’t forget people use filters and Photoshop to help boost their likes. Take a few steps and you will see many other places to enjoy without crowds everywhere.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - Yosemite 2

10. There will always be somebody who does not like your choices. If it’s about the next semester abroad, the country you want to travel next or the way you are spending your money, there are always people who think they know better. But there is only one person you actually need to satisfy, and that is yourself. Because in the end, we only regret the trips we did not do!

What have you learned from travelling in the past years?

schokokamel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Checkbox GDPR is required

*

I agree

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to top

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - Trinidad 6
Personal Travel Tips Travelling

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years

on
6. November 2019

Am Wochenende werde ich 28 – das heißt, dass ich vor ungefähr 10 Jahren meine Liebe zum Reisen entdeckt habe. Verrückt, wie lange das schon her ist! Vor 10 Jahren machte ich Pläne, um nach dem Abi ein Jahr in Australien zu verbringen, flog ein Jahr später für einen Austausch nach Japan und ging letztendlich als Aupair nach Paris. Und dort habe ich die Basis für drei weitere Auslandssemester gelegt. In diesen zehn Jahren habe ich einiges gelernt von vielen tollen, aber auch einigen weniger tollen Erlebnissen im Ausland.

1. Wenn etwas schief geht, erst einmal tief durchatmen und im Zweifelsfall über sich selbst lachen. Meistens ist es danach gar nicht mehr so dramatisch, wie man erst dachte.

2. Sei immer offen für spontane Gespräche! So bekommst du die besten Tipps, vor allem, wenn du dich eine Weile mit Einheimischen unterhältst.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - november

3. Dir wird nicht jedes Land gefallen, das du bereist – und das ist auch vollkommen in Ordnung so. Versuche, das beste daraus zu machen und dir nicht zu schnell ein Urteil zu bilden. Das hilft, um trotzdem einen tollen Urlaub zu haben!

4. Bucket Lists und To Do Listen sind schön und gut. Aber wenn man einfach mal keine Lust auf etwas hat, dann ist das auch vollkommen okay. Letztendlich geht es nur darum, dass du das Land kennenlernst und die Reise genießen kannst.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - Off Shoulder Dress 3

5. Es ist auch kein Drama, wenn man nicht alle Sehenswürdigkeiten einer Stadt abklappert. Vieles wird sowieso überbewertet.

6. Wenn man auf sein Bauchgefühl hört, erlebt man die besten Sachen. Ohne den spontanen Zwischenstopp auf Raymond Island hätten wir mit Sicherheit deutlich weniger Koalas in Australien gespottet. Alles nur, weil ich unbedingt in eine etwas gammelig aussehende Touristeninfo reingehen wollte.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - RaymondIsland 3

7. Die Geheimtipps im Lonely Planet sind alles andere als geheim. Hier trifft man meistens die meisten Touristen.

8. Auf Pinterest kann man sich wunderbar inspirieren lassen – und findet mit ein bisschen Glück noch wirkliche Geheimtipps!

9. Es gibt zu viele wunderbare Orte auf der Welt, um sich von Instagram blenden zu lassen. Jagt nicht nur dem einen perfekten Foto hinterher, dass auch Influencer XY gemacht hat – denn das wurde vermutlich bearbeitet und sieht in der Realität ganz anders aus. Haltet die Augen offen und stellt euch nicht in jeder Schlange für ein Foto an.

10 Things I Learned from Travelling in 10 Years - Yosemite 2

10. Es wird immer Menschen geben, die nicht mit euren Entscheidungen einverstanden sind. Ob es jetzt das eine Land ist, das ihr unbedingt bereisen möchtet oder der Zeitpunkt, zu dem ihr eine Reise plant. Oder die Entscheidung, noch einmal für ein paar Monate ins Ausland zu gehen, statt einen neuen Job zu suchen. Und das ist okay so.

Was habt ihr vom Reisen gelernt?

TAGS

LEAVE A COMMENT

* The GDPR Checkbox must be checked

*

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Alex
Munich

Alex, 26, is a Dutch/German blogger living in Munich.

Bucketlist
Asien
Europa
USA
Naher Osten