5 Things I Learned in Munich

It’s not been too long since I moved back to the Netherlands from Munich. I spent three years there, living, working, making friends and trying to get the best out of my time there – to realize in the end, that it’s never gonna feel like home. However, like every city I lived in, I learned a lot from my time there. Here are my five life lessons from Munich!

1. Understanding Bavarian. Oachkatzlschwoaf, Boatzn and more – to be honest, I did not really use many of them except for the obligatory Servus. But after not understanding my colleagues talking to me in Bavarian (although it is some kind of German, which I speak fluently) for a while, I got pretty good over the years to at least pick up the main subject of the conversation.

2. A dirndl is not just a dirndl. When I went to get my first one in the store after some months in Munich (obviously for Oktoberfest) I had no clue what I was in for. There were so many different choices, and apparently there are as many ways to do it wrong. Luckily, a friend helped me out and made sure, that I got the right one.

3. Being honest about what I want in life. After trying to fit in in the beginning, I realized at some point that there is only one person who can figure out what I want from life, and that’s me. After years of working next to my studies, I had my first real job in Munich, and quit pretty quickly because it was just not my cup of tea. That was a really good decision. And although I realized later on that this was not the path I wanted to continue to go down, I learned a lot from that second job. It’s not always the most important to hang in there and push through, but to really ask yourself what you want. Although this might be pretty frustrating from time to time.

4. It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey. When I first arrived in Munich, I did not really enjoy myself and the time there – because I was busy finishing the apartment, getting settled and more. I was only working forward to finally being done. And let’s face it, often that doesn’t happen. I could have enjoyed myself so much more if I had known this from the start. Just living in the moment, shrug at things from time to time and just deal with it later on.

5. Home is where the heart is. I thought I would feel at home almost everywhere, and I expected Munich to be one of those places. But even after three years, that feeling never became true and I was really looking forward to the next step: Going back to the Netherlands. I still think, you need to give every place an honest chance, but when even after a longer time, you do not feel right at home, you probably never will. And then it’s most important to just be honest to yourself and think of a solution.

schokokamel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Checkbox GDPR is required

*

I agree

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to top

5 Things I Learned in Munich - Stripes 4
Living Abroad

5 Things I Learned in Munich

on
22. September 2019

Lange ist es her, dass ich das letzte Mal einen Post in diese Richtung geschrieben habe – normalerweise nach jedem Auslandssemester, nach jedem Umzug in ein neues Land. Nach New York war mir einfach nicht danach, vielleicht hole ich das demnächst noch nach. Aber in den letzten drei Jahren in München habe ich auf jeden Fall einiges gelernt – here we go:

1. Bayrisch. Zumindest ein bisschen. Nachdem ich in den ersten Wochen wirklich keine Ahnung hatte, was meine Kollegen denn wohl von mir wollen könnten, habe ich es im Laufe der Zeit irgendwann geschafft, zumindest das grobe Thema der Unterhaltung zu verstehen. Yay! Und vor allem habe ich gelernt, dass man als „Zuagreister“ außer dem obligatorischen Servus bloß nicht versuchen sollte, bayrisch zu sprechen.

2. Ein Dirndl ist nicht gleich ein Dirndl – und man kann einiges falsch machen. Und das. nehmen einige Leute sehr persönlich! Mein erstes Dirndl musste ich zum Glück nicht alleine kaufen, die riesige Auswahl hat mich nämlich ziemlich überfordert.

3. Ehrlich zu mir selbst sein – auch, wenn das heißt, frühere Entscheidungen in Frage zu stellen. Mein erster richtiger Job in München war einfach eine falsche Entscheidung, auch, wenn ich anfangs dachte, es wäre genau richtig. Es war einfach nichts für mich! Es hat mich einiges an Überwindung gekostet, mir das einzugestehen und nach wenigen Monaten zu kündigen, weil ich eigentlich davon überzeugt bin, dass man manchmal einfach durchhalten muss. Und auch, wenn der zweite Job deutlich mehr Spaß gemacht hat, habe ich irgendwann einfach gemerkt, dass es einfach nichts für mich ist und mich langfristig nicht glücklich macht. Das Gefühl, sich das endlich einzugestehen und auf den nächsten Schritt hinzuarbeiten ist unbeschreiblich gut!

4. It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey. Das gilt nicht nur bei den großen und kleinen Abenteuern beim Reisen, sondern auch oder sogar vor allem dann, wenn man in eine neue Stadt zieht. Denn am Anfang habe ich die Zeit in München einfach nicht genossen – ich war viel zu sehr damit beschäftigt, „anzukommen“, die Wohnung fertig zu bekommen und so weiter. Aber immer, wenn ich dachte, ich wäre fast fertig, kam etwas Neues dazu. Manchmal muss einem einfach egal sein, was noch alles nicht fertig ist und das Hier und Jetzt viel mehr genießen. Denn das ist genau das, was den Umzug in eine neue Stadt so spannend und schön macht!

5. Man kann sich nicht zwingen, sich in einer Stadt heimisch zu fühlen. Wenn man sich einfach nicht komplett wohl fühlt, wenn man nicht das Gefühl hat, irgendwo zuhause zu sein, dann ist das vollkommen in Ordnung. Ich bin nach wie vor davon überzeugt, dass man offen sein muss, um jeder Stadt eine faire Chance zu geben – egal, was man eventuell für Vorurteile hat. Aber wenn es sich nach über zwei Jahren nicht ändert und man nur noch darüber nachdenkt, wo man als nächstes leben möchte, ist es vielleicht einfach an der Zeit, Nägel mit Köpfen zu machen.

TAGS

LEAVE A COMMENT

* The GDPR Checkbox must be checked

*

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Alex
Munich

Alex, 26, is a Dutch/German blogger living in Munich.

Bucketlist
Asien
Europa
USA
Naher Osten