Lesson Learned: Less is More

I love shopping – which should not surprise you, when you follow this blog regularly. It’s not about the happy feeling that you have when buying something (which mostly vanishes pretty quickly, anyways), but more the joy of having all those pieces in my closet and being able to create different styles with them. For the biggest part of the past years, I thought, the best way of combining outfits was to own a lot of stuff. Oh, was I wrong.

Lesson Learned: Less is More

I went shopping regularly and bought so much stuff – it didn’t seem to be so much at that point, and this sounds worse than it was anyways. Most of the stuff I bought was chosen because I liked the looks of it. But I also bought items to join a trend or because I saw other people or influencers wearing them. I thought having a big wardrobe would help me not only to develop a diverse style, but also to be cool and fashionable, something that I really hoped to be. I have to admit that there were quite some items that found their way into my closet and got forgotten in there. Worn once or twice, I either forgot about them or realised, that I just don’t really enjoy them when wearing them. But I still had the mindset of thinking that, if I own this or this and that, I might finally have enough options to combine everything. Even those items in the very back of my closet. Instead of thinking about if a new item matches what I already own, I rather thought of additional pieces I would buy to match the one I just got. I guess, compared to some people, my closet wasn’t even that full – but it felt overwhelming. The lesson learned about less is more this time – surprisingly – did not only come from a semester abroad with a limited amount of closing to be taken, but rather from my studies and job experience.

Working in marketing and constantly working on creating images for brands has changed my look on fashion. To me, clothes are not only something you have to wear to fit in, but more something to express yourself and create your very own “brand” – the person you are. Fashion can express your current mood, it can help you to feel better on a bad day, it can help you express different aspects of your character. Finding your very own style is kinda the same as creating an image for a brand. You need to find out what fits and what doesn’t. Obviously, a style can be broader and more diverse than a brand usually is. But one thing is exactly the same: you do not need to join every trend. Like many brands decided not to join the unicorn trend a few years ago, you do not need to join everything just because somebody else is wearing it. If you don’t feel 100% comfortable in it, leave it for somebody else.

When realising this, I also realised: I don’t need that much stuff. Decluttering actually feels good. Owning less clothes gives you more room to be creative yourself, combining outfits, finding new looks with what you already have. Instead of just buying something, I try to imagine the item in question combined with different pieces I already have in my closet. It’s way more fun! And by decluttering regularly and getting rid of what you did not wear, you can learn what is just not your cup of tea. Positive side effect: I spend way less money on trend items now than I did a few years ago. Money that I now can invest in something I had played my eyes on for longer, high quality pieces that are the perfect addition for my wardrobe and my style. And these pieces make me way happier than a very full and somehow not very worn closet.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Checkbox GDPR is required

*

I agree

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to top

Lesson Learned: Less is More - Striped Culottes 8 1
Fashion Lesson Learned

Lesson Learned: Less is More

on
25. September 2019

Falls ihr meinen Blog schon länger lest, dann ist es sicher keine Überraschung für euch, wenn ich sage: Ich liebe es, shoppen zu gehen. Und das hat für mich nichts mit dem guten Gefühl zu tun, das man bekommt, wenn man etwas Neues kauft (und das in den meisten Fällen ziemlich schnell wieder nachlässt). Ich liebe es, Trends zu entdecken und für mich passend umzusetzen, Klamotten aus meinem Schrank mit neuen Teilen zu kombinieren und Lieblingslooks zu finden. Lange dachte ich, dass ich immer mehr Klamotten ‚brauche‘, um ‚fashionable‘ zu sein – und es ging beim Shoppen genau um das kurz anhaltende Gefühl, etwas Neues zu haben. Mittlerweile sehe ich das zum Glück anders!

Weniger ist mehr

Ich gehe immer schon gerne shoppen – keine Ahnung, wann es angefangen hat. Oft habe ich mein Taschengeld und das, was ich mit meinem Nebenjob dazu verdient habe, für Klamotten ausgegeben. Natürlich damals noch nicht für qualitativ hochwertige Sachen, wenn wenn man günstige Sachen kauft, dann bekommt man natürlich mehr Teile für sein Geld. Ich dachte, je mehr ich habe, desto mehr Outfits kann ich zusammenstellen und desto cooler bin ich. Egal, ob ich einen Trend aufgeschnappt habe oder ein cooles Teil bei jemand anderem entdeckt habe – wenn möglich bin ich direkt los, um mir genau dieses Teil auch zu kaufen, ohne darüber nachzudenken, ob es zu mir und meinem Style passt. Kein Wunder, dass sich in meinem Kleiderschrank jede Menge Kleidungsstücke angesammelt haben, die kaum getragen wurden. Denn dass man öfter ganz verschiedene Outfits trägt, wenn man mehr besitzt, ist natürlich ab einem gewissen Grad Quatsch. Das habe ich irgendwann auch verstanden. Und obwohl es irgendwie auf der Hand liegt, dass ich diese Lektion während eines Auslandssemesters gelernt habe, weil ich nur einen einzigen Koffer einpacken konnte – nein, dieses Mal nicht.

Mein gesamtes Studium war auf Marketing ausgerichtet – und genau in diesem Bereich arbeite ich mittlerweile seit einigen Jahren. Oft dreht es sich darum, ein Image für eine Marke zu kreieren und dafür zu sorgen, dass Menschen ein bestimmtes Bild im Kopf haben, wenn sie an die Marke denken. Im Laufe meines Studiums verstand ich immer mehr, was hier alles mit rein spielt – und dass Kleidung letztendlich nicht mehr und nicht weniger ist, als ein Teil meines ganz persönlichen Marketing Mix. Auch, wenn die meisten Menschen sagen würden, dass sie andere nicht nach ihrem Äußeren beurteilen, passiert das in der Realität ziemlich oft. Natürlich heißt das nicht, dass man sich komplett einschränken muss, und nicht ab und zu mal etwas anderes tragen darf. Aber ich habe für mich beschlossen, dass ich nur noch Dinge tragen möchte, die wirklich zu mir passen – und eben das widerspiegeln, das ich bin oder sein möchte. Ich laufe immer noch am Wochenende ab und zu im Gammellook herum und sitze mit Jogginghose auf der Couch. Aber es hat meine Einstellung beim Shoppen grundsätzlich geändert. Statt so viel wie möglich zu kaufen und jeden Trend mitzunehmen, achte ich mehr darauf, was zu mir passt.

Nachdem ich das einmal verstanden habe, hat sich an meinem Konsumverhalten einiges geändert. Ich shoppe immer noch oft und gerne, aber ich achte mehr darauf, was ich kaufe. Und ich überlege mir vorher, mit welchen Teilen aus meinem Kleiderschrank ich ein neues Teil kombinieren könnte. Last but not least sortiere ich regelmäßig aus und gebe Kleidungsstücke, die ich nicht mehr trage weg. Das ist so ein befreiendes Gefühl! Ich besitze immer noch viel Kleidung, aber die Dinge, die sich in meinem Schrank befinden, trage ich auch wirklich – und ich habe verstanden, dass mehr nicht immer mehr ist.

TAGS

LEAVE A COMMENT

* The GDPR Checkbox must be checked

*

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Alex
Munich

Alex, 26, is a Dutch/German blogger living in Munich.

Bucketlist
Asien
Europa
USA
Naher Osten