Travel Tip: 5 Things to Do in Brussels

Brussels is the city I have visited the most often by far – as my grandparents lived there and I was there several times a year for over 27 years. And although I still don’t consider Brussels a particularly nice city, the good memories and nostalgia are the reasons I still love to come back and visit. As I think that Brussels is underrated, I put together my top 5 things to do!

My Top 5 Things to Do in Brussels

1. Explore the old city center

One thing I love in Brussels is the old city center – by which I do not mean the Grand Place and the other touristy, mostly crowded places but rather the small streets with cafés and shops. Plan some time to get lost here, just wandering around and let yourself explore it! And yes, definitely stop at the Grand Place and Manneken Pis anyways, because it is a part of the Brussels experience.

2. Eat. Lots. Of. Stuff.

Chocolade, waffles, french fries…they surely know good food! So make sure you are hungry before you go into the city to be able to grab a waffle on the way (Belgaufra has the best, order them plain without any topping). Go to Maison Antoine for the best fries in town and get some good chocolade at Leonidas!

3. Drink some beer!

Next to good food, the Belgians surely know, how to make good beer, too! Although I do not really wanna promote alcohol consumption on this blog, I kinda feel like I have to because if you are in Brussels, trying some of that beer is an absolute must. Try to avoid touristy places such as Delirium and go for smaller bars, there are enough that serve unique beers. And if you do not know what to order, just decide based on the name. That’s how I started out and by accident discovered my favourite beer, Triple Karmeliet.

4. Visit the Atomium

Maybe that’s not really a secret tip, but the Atomium just has to be part of your Brussels experience. Yes, it’s not close to the city center, and it’s smaller than you thought once you are standing in front of it. But it’s worth it! And honestly, it’s one of the few iconic buildings worldwide that I really consider beautiful. Although I have been in Brussels so many times, I only was inside the Atomium once, and that was for work. However, if you don’t want to make the trip out of the city center just for one photo, you should definitely take the time to go inside, too!

Tickets from €8, more info here

5. Get to know the European Parliament

When in Brussels, you can visit the European Parliament and the Parlamentarium. And it’s definitely worth your time! You do not only get a behind the scenes look of European politics, but also learn a lot about European history and the current issues being discussed in the parliament. Also, the entrance is free!

More info here

Have you ever been to Brussels? If yes, what are your tips?

schokokamel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Checkbox GDPR is required

*

I agree

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Back to top

Travel Tip: 5 Things to Do in Brussels - Brussels
Travel Tips Travelling

Travel Tip: 5 Things to Do in Brussels

on
11. Oktober 2019

Brüssel ist vermutlich die Stadt, in die ich die meisten Städtetrips meines Lebens gemacht habe – nämlich 27 Jahre lang mehrere pro Jahr, immer, wenn wir meine Großeltern dort besucht haben. Und obwohl ich die Stadt selbst eigentlich nicht besonders schön finde und die Sehenswürdigkeiten gefühlt auswendig kenne, fahre ich genau wegen dieser Erinnerungen immer noch gerne hin. Ich habe das Gefühl, dass Brüssel irgendwie unterschätzt ist, und habe euch deswegen meine fünf Tipps zusammengeschrieben. Here we go!

Meine Top 5 Tipps für Brüssel

1. Die Altstadt erkunden

Immer, wenn wir in Brüssel waren, sind wir mindestens einen Tag in die Altstadt gefahren – zum Bummeln, nur für ein paar Stunden. Vor allem abseits vom Grand Place und dem Springbrunnen Manneke Pis gibt es ein paar Straßen und Gassen, in denen man sich wunderbar verlaufen kann, mit kleinen Cafés und Shops. Nehmt euch Zeit und lauft einfach drauf los!

2. Essen, essen, essen!

Waffeln, Pommes, Schokolade…Belgien hat ein paar tolle Sachen zu bieten! Vermeidet die Touristen-Restaurants direkt am Grand Place und sucht ein bisschen außerhalb des Zentrums. Mein Tipp für die besten Waffeln: Belgaufra (aber wenn, dann bitte einfach ohne irgendein Topping), die besten Pommes bekommt ihr bei Maison Antoine und Schokolade bei Leonidas.

3. Bier trinken

Eigentlich möchte ich auf meinem Blog nicht unbedingt zu übermäßigem Alkoholkonsum aufrufen, aber…wenn ihr in Brüssel seid, müsst ihr unbedingt belgisches Bier trinken! Natürlich geht das im Delirium, einer riesigen Bar mitten im Zentrum, aber es gibt viel schönere und authentischere Bars in Brüssels Innenstadt. Zum Beispiel das Moeder Lambic. Und auch, wenn es touristisch ist, liebe ich das Drug Opera immer noch (:

4. Das Atomium besuchen

Obwohl ich so oft in Brüssel war, war ich nur ein einziges Mal im Atomium, und das auch nur für die Arbeit. Trotzdem gehört dieses Wahrzeichen natürlich irgendwie dazu – und ihr solltet auf jeden Fall einmal hinfahren. Denn im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Wahrzeichen ist es wirklich schön!

Eintritt ab 8 Euro, weitere Infos und Tickets hier

5. Das Europäische Parlament besuchen

In Brüssel könnt ihr auch das Europäische Parlament und das Parlamentarium besuchen. Hier erfahrt ihr nicht nur alles über die Geschichte Europas, sondern auch, wie genau das Parlament eigentlich arbeitet und was die aktuellen Themen sind. Ich war selbst auch schon dort, und kann euch einen Besuch nur empfehlen!

Eintritt gratis, weitere Infos findet ihr hier

Wart ihr schon einmal in Brüssel? Und wenn ja, wie hat es euch dort gefallen? (:

TAGS

LEAVE A COMMENT

* The GDPR Checkbox must be checked

*

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Alex
Munich

Alex, 26, is a Dutch/German blogger living in Munich.

Bucketlist
Asien
Europa
USA
Naher Osten