One Year After: New York, I still miss you! - One World Observatory
Living Abroad

One Year After: New York, I still miss you!

on
27. August 2017

It’s gonna be one year tomorrow that I took the train to JFK and boarded the plane. Ahead of me: four weeks of traveling California and one week on Hawaii. Behind me: eight months in New York. It wasn’t an easy goodbye.

The start wasn’t the easiest either: weird roommates in an apartment in Spanish Harlem. Moving to Brooklyn made things easier and there it was: living in New York like I pictured it before. But already from the very first day I knew: New York got me and wouldn’t let me go easily.

The contrast between busy Manhattan and the quiet residential area in Brooklyn. The skyscrapers and the brownstones. Tourists and New Yorkers side by side. Uncountable possibilities, no matter if it’s about the next party, museums or doing groceries. The busy subway that I take every morning and evening. Annoyed people. And almost daily that moment when I realize: I’m part of this now I really do live in New York. Looking up, a smile on my face.

On my last day in this city, I stand in Battery Park, looking at the Statue of Liberty. It’s August 27th, I’ll leave tomorrow and I don’t know, when I will be back for a visit. I’m sad that I have to leave, but also grateful that I was able to spend eight months here. One last look before I leave – there are more places in this city I need to see one last time for now. I spend the late afternoon in Central Park, watching people that live here, people that are only here on holidays. I need to get home. I didn’t even start packing and I still have to clean the apartment.

One Year After: New York, I still miss you! - DSC 0012 1024x683

New York changed me. More spontaneous, in certain situations more reckless, more self-concious. I loved to be part of this, I loved working here. The lunchbreaks between Park and Lex. The city left an impression on me. It took me with it, and let me go. But not all of me. A phenomenon know to everybody that spent some time in New York.

The past year wasn’t the easiest. Traveling was amazing, but getting back to Europe and moving to a city I barely knew in Germany was hard. Maybe it was Munich, maybe it would’ve been the same everywhere else: it’s not New York. It’s different, good in its own way, but just not the same.

Does that mean going back to New York? I’d love to, but for now, I’ll stay where I am. Take some time, think about what I want to do, get some rest. And after? I have no idea, but I’ll let you know.

One Year After: New York, I still miss you! - Off Shoulder 7 683x1024

Thanks to K, L, S, T, A, C, M, E and all the agents at E&V NYC for the great time I had. And of course to all the others ♥

TAGS

LEAVE A COMMENT

* Checkbox GDPR is required

*

I agree

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Alex
Munich

Alex, 26, is a Dutch/German blogger living in Munich.

Bucketlist
Asia
Europe
USA
Middle East

One Year After: New York, I still miss you! - One World Observatory
Living Abroad

One Year After: New York, I still miss you!

am
27. August 2017

Morgen ist es genau ein Jahr her, dass ich am JFK ins Flugzeug gestiegen bin. Vor mir: vier Wochen Roadtrip durch Kalifornien und eine Woche Hawaii. Hinter mir: acht Monate in New York. Der Abschied ist mir nicht leicht gefallen.

Der Start war etwas holprig, die Mitbewohner und die Wohnung in Spanish Harlem nicht mein Ding. Der Umzug nach Brooklyn hat vieles besser gemacht. Doch schon vom ersten Tag an wusste ich: New York hat mich jetzt schon gepackt.

Der Kontrast zwischen dem immer vollen, lauten und geschäftigen Manhatten zum ruhigen Wohngebit in Brooklyn. Wolkenkratzer mit glänzender Glasfassade neben Backsteinhäusern. Touristen und Einheimische. Millionen Möglichkeiten – egal ob es um eine Party, ein Museum oder um den Wochenendeinkauf geht. Die vollgestopften U-Bahnen, in die auch ich jeden Morgen und jeden Abend einsteige. Die mürrischen Gesichter. Und immer wieder dieser Moment, in dem mir klar wird, dass ich gerade Teil davon bin – dass ich tatsächlich in New York lebe. Der Blick nach oben, das Lächeln, das sich auf mein Gesicht schleicht.

An meinem letzten Tag in dieser Stadt stehe ich im Battery Park und schaue auf die Freiheitsstatue. Es ist der 27. August, morgen verlasse ich die Stadt – und weiß noch nicht, wann ich wiederkomme. Ich bin traurig, dass ich gehen muss, aber auch dankbar, für die Zeit, die ich hier leben durfte. Ein letzter Blick, dann muss ich weiter – Abschied nehmen von der Stadt, in der ich eine großartige Zeit hatte. Abends sitze ich im Central Park und beobachte die Menschen, bevor ich schweren Herzens in die Wohnung zurück fahre. Ich muss meinen Koffer noch einpacken, denn auch das habe ich bis zur letzten Minute aufgeschoben.

One Year After: New York, I still miss you! - DSC 0012 1024x683

New York hat mich verändert. Spontaner, rücksichtsloser, selbstbewusster. Ich habe mich dort wohl gefühlt, die Arbeit hat mir Spaß gemacht. Die Mittagspausen zwischen Park und Lexington Avenue. Die Stadt hat einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen. Und mich tief beeindruckt. Mich mitgerissen, verschluckt und wieder ausgespuckt. Aber nicht ganz. Ein Phänomen, das jeder kennt, der eine Zeit lang dort gelebt hat.

Das letzte Jahr war schwer. Nicht die Reisen, aber das Eingewöhnen in Deutschland. Vielleicht liegt es an München, vielleicht wäre es überall so: es ist einfach nicht New York. Es ist anders, gut auf seine eigene Weise, aber irgendwie nicht gut genug.

Also zurück nach New York? Am liebsten ja, aber erstmal bleibe ich hier. Zeit zum Durchatmen, neu sortieren und Nachdenken. Eine Weile zur Ruhe kommen. Und dann? Wenn ich es weiß, dann sage ich euch Bescheid.

One Year After: New York, I still miss you! - Off Shoulder 7 683x1024

TAGS
2 Comments
  1. Antworten

    Paleica

    28. August 2017

    ein schöner text. wenn man new york geliebt hat, ist es glaube ich fast überall anders auf der welt schwer. diese stadt hat einfach was so spezielles, dass einem grade alles hier in mitteleuropa einfach nur zu klein ist.

LEAVE A COMMENT

* The GDPR Checkbox must be checked

*

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

Alex
Munich

Alex, 26, is a Dutch/German blogger living in Munich.

Bucketlist
Asien
Europa
USA
Naher Osten